An artist is just a bad propagandist (2)

In one of my first posts I argued that many artists are just inept propagandists: they have an idea they want to defend or promote, they do it poorly and muddle the message; then, art emerges in the process, like a flower from a turd.

The example I gave then was old-ish. But there are more recent examples, for instance in rock music. Take this very good story that was recently published in the Wall Street Journal, in which the writer of the Jefferson Airplane’s signature song, “White Rabbit” (this is the one everyone thinks is called “Go ask Alice”; and I agree that should be the title, anyway) explains how she came up with it:

 

So Grace Slick wanted to write a song about how she hated that her parents were hypocrites, drinking their liquor “Mad Men”-style while complaining that she was doing drugs. Fine. I do challenge anyone to come up with that conclusion after listening to the actual lyrics; if not for her explanation, I would have never suspected what she meant to say in her (excellent) song.

After all, she gets it herself: “If I had done it right, more people would have been annoyed.” Her failure to comunicate her simple, adolescent fury and to get people upset with her parents gave us art:

About David Roman

Communicator. I tweet @dromanber.
This entry was posted in Bad Propaganda, Essays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to An artist is just a bad propagandist (2)

  1. Best MMO says:

    Hey guys. I can’t seem to access this page when I’m using the web browser SEWER NECROPEDOSADOMASO version 53… I highly suspect it being problem coming from either your WordPress theme or maybe your plugins https://mmorpggaminghd.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/the-tauren-rogue-new-class-race-for-wow-legion/

    Like

  2. You really make it appear so easy with your presentation but I in finding this topic to be really one thing that I believe I might never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely huge for me.
    I am looking ahead to your next publish, I will try to get the cling of it!

    Like

  3. I used to be able to find good advice from your articles.

    Like

  4. Jona says:

    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue on the topic of this article here
    at this website, I have read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.

    Like

  5. The days of Nessmuk the place you could kill a deer for
    dinner and then go away the carcass to rot are lengthy gone.

    Like

  6. My youngsters like it when I put sizzling canines of their macaroni and cheese meal, at first I thought it might not style good however it does.

    Like

  7. serovital says:

    Have you ever considered regarding adding a little bit more
    than just your posts? I mean, what you say is basic and everything.
    Nonetheless think about if you added some great pictures or
    video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is superb however with images and clips, this website could certainly be among the most valuable in its field.

    Great blog!

    Like

  8. Great write-up and I will be likely to look back later on for far more posts.

    Like

  9. Very educating story, saved your site for hopes to read more!

    Like

  10. But when a Russian moves away from his or her Motherland, they have an inclination to resurrect and
    cherish their Russian-solely customs and traditions.

    Like

  11. Hannah says:

    It can be difficult to write about this topic.
    I think you did an outstanding job though! Thank you for this!

    Like

  12. Adolfo says:

    Woah I really like your posts, saved! My spouse and i adored your posts.

    Like

  13. Beatrice says:

    This is my first time to visit here. I found numerous interesting
    stuff in your blog, specifically in its discussion. I guess I’m not the only one having all the entertainment here!
    Keep up the superb work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

